Bhandari, the candidate from left alliance of CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center), was elected president for a second term on Tuesday garnering 39,275 electoral votes in the presidential election held at the Parliament House in New Baneshwore earlier on the day।
The electoral college for presidential election included 880 voters including 331 lawmakers of the federal parliament and 549 of the provincial assemblies। She has not served a full term as the first president Ram Baran Yadav continued at the office for almost two years after the second Constituent Assembly (CA) election in November 2013। The votes of federal and provincial lawmakers were given different weightage। Chief Justice administers oath of office and secrecy to the president, according to the constitution।

For Detail Setopati